Lakeside Hotel and Spa

Breathtaking 4* hotel and spa on the southern shores of Windermere

Lakeside Hotel and Spa Reviews

Lakeside, Cumbria, LA12 8AT

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Lakeside Hotel and Spa

37 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Relaxing luxury stay

Michael, Durham, stayed: July 2024

Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by very helpful, friendly and professional staff, shown to our room and layout of hotel explained. Public areas, restaurant and spa all excellent with great staff. Our room (overlooking the lake) was spacious, with a large bathroom complete with robes etc but was slightly let down by the jacuzzi bath not working. We are led to believe that the rooms are all due an update in the coming year. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and would definitely return.



Overall Rating:

Location:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Customer service:

  • Would stay here again


Paul B, Somerset, stayed: June 2024


Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Location:

Spa:

Customer service:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again


Nice location, poor value for money

Anon, stayed: June 2024

The hotel is in a lovely location on the lakeside and is surrounded by beautiful well-kept gardens.
The location is definitely the main seller of the hotel.

Unfortunately, we felt the value for money was very poor. We ate a 2 course dinner in the restaurant ( quite a small menu choose from too) but we wanted to give it a try. The portion sizes were extremely small, so much so that we both left hungry after 2 courses. We got a bottle of still water and the bill was 92. Very steep considering we had no alcohol.
Breakfast the next morning was very much the same it looked very sparse what you got on the plate, 1 sausage, 1 small egg, 1 mushroom,1 tomato. I understand to look at it looks gourmet , but in reality it s just poor value for a 20 breakfast.
A 10% service charge is added to everything you order in the hotel, which is absolutely fine if the customer service reflects that, but it definitely didn t.
The attitude of a few of the staff was as though they didn t want to be there. There were multiple occasions throughout the hotel where I d let staff come through the door first and held the door open and didn t even get a thank you. So to charge a 10% service charge when that is the service you get is pretty disappointing.
In addition to this, we ordered NO room service throughout our stay however, the hotel decided to add on a 5 room charge on check-out regardless if you used any room services or not.
I had already paid for the room, I had already paid an extra 10 surcharge for going in June, yet they still thought necessary to add another 5 on.
We actually decided to not buy anything else at the hotel as the prices were extortionate.
Yet somehow still came out with a bill of 20 on check-out due to extra service charges. One thing I would suggest is to always check your receipt if you re going here, I saw a lot of reviews saying the same thing.

Rooms are a bit dated however, I understand they are currently under refurbishment so this is already in the process. TVs in the room need updating with smart features or the option to watch your own Netflix etc.

Gardens outside are beautiful & the games room is a nice touch.

Unfortunately we wouldn t return here.



Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Location:


Family break

Anon, stayed: May 2024

I booked a one night stay for my son and my 14 year old grandson who is an autistic little boy. They thoroughly enjoyed their break. They loved the swimming pool and jacuzzi especially. The staff were extremely friendly and were lovely with my grandson. Restaurant food was delicious and the children's menu was great, spaghetti bolognese going down a treat! The breakfast is amazing too. Overall a most enjoyable break was had by my son and grandson.



Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Spa:

Location:

  • Would stay here again


Anon, stayed: May 2024


Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Spa:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Location:


Great weekend

HE, Merseyside, stayed: May 2024

Went for a lovely break away, great hotel with a relaxing ambience. Gorgeous views, great breakfast - definitely worth a visit.



Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Spa:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Location:

  • Would stay here again


Anon, stayed: May 2024


Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

Location:


Jill, Greater Manchester, stayed: May 2024


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Location:


Price Match Guarantee Plus

The best deal is guaranteed. If you find it cheaper we'll refund the difference and give you a £20 voucher.

View Details

Like this hotel?

Subscribe for deals and updates.